RSS

How do we do this?

27 Jan

Rising at 5:00am to the cries of Ishmael, I slowly drag my limp body from my husband’s warmth, knowing that this was it, the start of my day.

Today my to-do list is overflowing with researching business ideas, completing online masters program orientation, completing fafsa, reviewing 2011 tax changes, house chores, husband’s lunch, then dinner and above all else, tending to Ishmael. The crazy part of this to-do list is the fact that I am better at getting things done when Ishmael is sleeping.

Not so crazy, right? Well just wait a minute, here comes the missing piece of information; Ishmael has recently decided that he will only take a nap at 11:30am to 1:00pm throughout the entire day, and to add to that, my loving husband who cannot have enough of my meals, consistently comes home for lunch at 11:30 to 12:30 each day. So the only time period that I have to accomplish these task, seemingly is between 12:30pm and 1:30pm, now you tell me, how do we do this?

My afternoons are no better because Zee, my eldest son gets home at 3:30pm and now my to-do list has ‘help with homework’ added. Between 3:30pm and 5:30pm I am focused on Zee, his homework and ‘homeschool’ review. Thereafter it is time for dinner and family time, which lasts for about an hour.

You would think that I am now done with taking care of the two lovely boys that God has blessed me with but no, I have bath time, story-time and prayer time coming up and all this takes us to 8:00pm when it is off to bed Zee goes. Ish on the other hand believes that if mommy and daddy are staying up then he too should accompany us until we call it quits. This is normally around 11:00pm.

To the untrained eye, it would appear that my to-do list is untouched and incomplete and many atimes I feel as if that will be the result at the end of the day. But for us mothers and wives out there, our natural instincts and daily experiences have taught us how to maneuver our tasks throughout the day. Even with distractions all around we creatively complete each task knowing that tomorrow has a new list waiting to be found.

We were not trained for this and we oftentimes get frustrated along the way. However we will cook our meals while our babies are safely having fun with our plastic-ware on the kitchen floor,

and work with our computers, telephones and other technologically required gadgets while playing peek-a-boo, I see you.

It is no wonder that my husband oftentimes comment at the state of my office when he enters therein but I am content, knowing that, that area is not just where I work but where my little one plays.

I now understands why Ishmael acts as if he knows exactly how to use the computer keyboard, my blackberry and the printer and why he wipes the imaginary mess from off the kitchen floor. I know why he babbles vehemently with the phone by his ear and why he jumps with glee when he realizes that I am praising his attempt of counting and saying his ABCs.

Each day I look at my to-do list and smile, knowing that it, at the outset seems impossible but with my motherly instincts, I will accomplish, if not all then most of the items within. But most importantly,I smile because I have realized that my to-do list no longer rules me and I am happy.

I cannot begin to explain how we do this but I am glad that I do. How about you?

 
11 Comments

Posted by on January 27, 2011 in My family and I

 

Tags: , , , ,

11 responses to “How do we do this?

  1. shivy

    January 28, 2011 at 3:33 am

    wow i like this cads views! my to-do list doesnt rule me! i love it cads very good job n oo ishyyy is gettin so big! n plus u gotta utilize everything around u thats safe to occupy ishy while u work and i def. agree with that idea for babies esp.a baby as advanced as ishy.keep working,encouragement and writing!

     
    • cadsview

      January 28, 2011 at 11:39 am

      I love and miss you. Thanks for visiting my blog, please come again and take others with you. It is good that you are not ruled by your to-do list but make sure you have a steady record of accomplishing your tasks. That’s how you will achieve fulfillment in yourself and not having to look to anyone else.

       
  2. Kadian

    January 28, 2011 at 6:29 am

    Thanks Cads for sharing this with me. It is very inspirational. I may not have 2 boys like u, but I surely balance a lot; grad skool full-time, 2 jobs, internship, and many aspects at church. It is not easy doing all of this while being a FULL TIME WIFE, but everything gets done. It’s nice to see that u are still keeping ur head above water inspiring me for when that time comes when I shall bring forth…GLLLOOOOORAAAYYY!!!!

     
    • cadsview

      January 28, 2011 at 11:37 am

      You my friend are crazy!!! Just hurry up and have those little ones just so we can spoil them. I know you handle alot and you do a great job, especially being newly wed. I am encouraged to know that you are inspired by my work.
      Keep on coming back and tell me like it is, I know you will.

       
  3. Trovis

    January 28, 2011 at 7:02 am

    Hey Cads,

    This is the first time I’m reading this and throughout I kept thinking, “Jeez, how will you get it all done?” I was heartened, however, when I got to the end and realized that the message is that, what gets done is what is important

    Not being ruled by your to-do list is something I’m trying to do as well – not being ruled by my email or blackberry (it’s a work in progress). I have so much respect and admiration for you mothers who do it all – the work, the children, the school, the husband (in no particular order, of course!). You are so strong and determined and focused.

    I know sometimes it must be difficult and you ask yourself, so what about me – but the things that fulfill you are what makes you happy, so it balances out, nuh true?

    Wishing you continued strength, Superwoman – hope Ish’s nap time extends soon so yo can do a little bit more than lunch.

    Lotsa hugs and kisses from my heart to yours.

     
    • cadsview

      January 28, 2011 at 11:34 am

      I really do miss you, just wish we weren’t so busy. I miss being a part of your world, knowing what you have been up to, so I can live vicariously through you, lol. While writing I tried to stay away from that word, ‘Superwoman’ as a challenge to see which of my commentors would be the first to mention it and of course, it was you. Kudos, lol.
      I have realized that once I let go of the to-do list and only allow it to guid me, I get more done than when I stringently try to follow it, sorta-like just going with the flow and at the end of the day I pat myself on the back for those that I have accomplished through it all.

      I oftentimes miss out on being a party of one, or two(us girls going crazy) but then I look at my lot and smile, knowing that I am truly ok.
      Thanks for visiting my blog, you should view the other notes and let me know your thoughts.
      Love you.

       
  4. sandykat32

    January 28, 2011 at 9:37 am

    This is great Cadine! It is also great knowing how your days go about. It’s tough, I know, we are pretty much in the same boat. We are survivors though and we do get through it all one way or another. Its called “Survival Mode.” lol Your a strong focused woman and I know you do only the best for your loving family. Keep up the good work. Miss you a bunches!

     
    • cadsview

      January 28, 2011 at 11:27 am

      Sandy luv, thanks for visiting my blog. ‘Survival Mode’ is definitely what we function in because if we do not do it, who will? Miss you hon. Kiss your 2 precious ones for me.

       
  5. Oliver

    January 28, 2011 at 7:57 pm

    This is very beautiful! I do wonder at times how you do it. But at the end of the day I am happy that I have super woman in my life. I pray I will forever be your superman.

    In the meantime, don’t get weary, all this will pay off in the long and short term. Know that you family loves and appreciate everything that you do. You are beautiful in every single way and I love you.

     
    • cadsview

      January 30, 2011 at 6:42 pm

      Thank you darling.

       
  6. nevcj2

    January 30, 2011 at 10:26 pm

    Being able to go through a second, minute, hours with children is truly a blessing. Girl I wish I was able to experience those moments with mine, but as life would have it right at this moment, its not to be. If nothing else being away from my own children has taught me many lessons, one of which is. Never give up who you are or what you desire for another for in doing this, you tend to lose so much, which is what happened to me.

    Motherhood is a blessing and gift from God and because you walk hand in hand with the Creator you are able to juggle the tasks that daily lay before you. We truly are super women no matter what men say because we can and do balance so much.

    Hearing the laughter of our children and seeing their smile is more than enough to keep us going. Continue doing what you are doing. God sees it all and will provide the strength you need to accomplish the tasks that lay ahead.

    Peace and Love

     

Leave a comment